spiritual warfare

In modern Western Christianity we know very little about spiritual warfare.  Most Christ-followers know that the Bible teaches the concept of the Devil.  But herein lies the problem: it has been my experience that Satan, the master deceiver, adapts himself to the culture.  What spiritual warfare looks like in America is different than what it looks like in Africa, Asia, or even Russia.  I was in a remote Russian hotel several years ago by myself and had just fallen asleep after a full day of teaching in a Bible college. All of a sudden the bed started shaking and the covers flew up over my head.  I had never experienced anything like this before!  After I pried myself off of the ceiling (figuratively, not literally), I started immediately praying warfare prayers to no avail.  As I reflect back on what happened that evening I realized that what I was encountering was a demonic stronghold. I was told that this was common in that region.

Here in America I believe that the goal of our enemy is to make us believe that the devil just doesn’t exist. That would be the ultimate deception!  Because if we buy into that world view, then really he can sow lies that will reek havoc on us.  If we cannot recognize where the bullets are coming from, then we have no way of defending ourselves.

I believe there are several strongholds that our enemy traps us in. Let me just name several of them: bitterness, rebellion, pride, sexual bondage, and for that matter addictive behavior of all kind.  So how do I find victory over this warfare?  I believe that Ephesians 6 tells us that it is through appropriating all of the armor that God has provided:  things like identity in Christ, knowing how to use the Word, prayer, and faith.  But in addition to that, to win this war it also takes humility, repentance, and a commitment to stay in the flock.  In fact, the idea of the shield of faith has to do with the Roman shields that Roman soldiers would interlock together.

In the end it takes a radical commitment, holding back nothing from God!

6 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by Rick on November 5, 2014 at 5:52 pm

    you are on target Dan…

    Reply

  2. Posted by Joy Cuciak on November 5, 2014 at 8:24 pm

    Amen, I utterly concur Ps Dan! I find that so true in my personal experiences in the various regions and cultures of the world.

    I’ve also found being vigilant in the following 2 areas crucial in our victories in the Battlefield of The Mind(where the enemy seems to work the hardest in this self-centered, self-absorbed, self-indulgent, self-serving part of the free and abundant world)–the entire renewal of my mind through the Word(Get into the Word to let the Word get into me); and casting down every thought and thing(reasoning, arguments, fleshly desires…) that stands in the way of the true knowledge of God bringing them into obedience to Jesus Christ (II Cor 10:3-5, Eph 4:22-24 and Rom 12:2).

    Thanks for sharing.
    Joy Cuciak

    Reply

  3. Posted by Ron & Donna Rayburn on November 5, 2014 at 10:44 pm

    Dan as always on point. We are thankful you take the time to minister and say truth. God Bless you always
    In Jesus name Ron & Donna
    Fresno Ca

    Reply

  4. It’s like the famous Kevin Spacey line from the movie “The Usual Suspects,” – “The Greatest trick the Devil ever pulled was convincing the world he didn’t exist.”

    I like what you said about commitment to one another. We are all vulnerable in isolation.

    Reply

  5. Posted by Chet on November 7, 2014 at 8:13 pm

    And no wonder! For Satan himself transforms himself into an angel of light. (‭II Corinthians‬ ‭11‬:‭14‬ NKJV)

    Reply

  6. That is amazing about your time in Russia, thanks for sharing. I agree as well.

    Reply

Leave a comment